Winners of the coveted OFM Music Awards announced

The winners of the coveted OFM Music Awards were announced today during a special, live two-hour radio broadcast from midday to 2pm.  One of South Africa’s favourite rock bands, Monark, performed live during the show.


In the run-up to the awards show, listeners had a chance to vote for their favourite artists, albums and songs in national and international categories.


In the international categories, British-Norwegian record producer Alan Walker won Best Male Artist International. Walker is best known for his electronic dance music single “Faded”, which has reached number 1 in many countries and boasts the one of the top 40 most liked YouTube videos ever. Ever popular British singer/songwriter Adele won Best Female International and Album of the Year International for her album – 25.  It was another win for the British as One Direction won Best International Group, while Song of the Year International went to the Yanks, with Ben Haenow and Kelly Clarkson’s Second Hand Hart taking top honours.


In the national categories, Elvis Blue’s Optics, won Album of the Year. Both Riana Nel and Bobby van Jaarsveld were second time winners in Best Female Artist, and Best Male Artist categories.  The Parlotones won this year’s Best South African Group.  Finally, listeners chose Karlien van Jaarsveld’s “Woorde” as the Song of the Year.


Says Nick Efstathiou, OFM General Manager: “The OFM Music Awards was an engagement success.  We are satisfied with the inputs of our loyal listeners and can honestly say that this year’s winners were chosen by those who matter the most – the fans.  Congratulations to all our Golden Note winners.  May you continue to make music and more importantly, make magic!”

You may also like